Rehabilitation in Australia

1972-01 Rehabilitation in Australia 9(1)

For the past few weeks I’ve been working my way through Rehabilitation in Australia. Published by the Australian Council for the Rehabilitation of the Disabled, it was circulated quarterly from 1963. I’ll be using content from the journal for both my thesis, and a chapter I am drafting for The Oxford Handbook of Disability History, which is due for publication next year.

One of the fascinating things about Rehabilitation in Australia is the way that a range of categories of human difference– race, gender, and physical, neurological and psychiatric variances– all feed into the umbrella category of “the disabled”. I’ll be reflecting more upon that in the future.

In the meantime, I’ve been struck by the fascinating and often very revealing cover photographs (and accompanying captions). I’ve put a few of the best up on my blog at davegearl.com.

 

