New Zealand Historical Association Meeting

Last week I attended the biennial meeting of the New Zealand Historical Association, this year held in the southern city of Dunedin. It was a jam-packed three days, with five keynotes delivered by local and international historians including Maya Jasanoff, Damon Salesa, Elizabeth Elbourne, Atholl Anderson, and Henry Yu. The highlight for many was a conference dinner at Otakou marae, on the Otago Peninsula: http://www.otakourunaka.co.nz/about_us.php

Unfortunately, I missed the dinner due to a nasty bout of food poisoning . . . but I did manage to deliver my paper, about the doctor and health reformer Sir Maui Pomare. In the paper, which I’m now turning into an essay, I’m grappling with the ways that Pomare is represented in different historiographical traditions: one being primarily national and progressive in orientation; and another focussing on the agency and history of the tribe as the maker and breaker of leader’s fortunes.

For more information on the New Zealand Historical Association and future meetings, see: http://nzha.org.nz/

Miranda

